Excessive crowing

ChickenMamaC

Songster
5 Years
Jun 6, 2018
Rose Valley, WA
I have a young roo (about 5-6 months, uncertain as he was rescued from a public trail) who crows easily 100 times every morning. This is my first time with a rooster, but I read they crow on average 10-20 times a day. He also crows off and on during the day and again quite a bit in the evening.

He has five hens, a very spacious run, a large and clean coop, and constant access to feed and fresh water (except in the coop).
The automatic door opens at 5:15 AM but he doesn't come out for probably an hour afterward, but crows from 4:30 on.

Is this because he is young? It's driving me bananas. I believe he is a cuckoo marans.

Attachments

• IMG_5980.jpeg
    IMG_5980.jpeg
    390 KB · Views: 200
Some people have had success keeping them in a darkened area so they don't wake up as early. I am not sure how you would still give them the ventilation they need, but maybe someone else can figure that out.

He may change, but a lot of folks on here say that they usually don't. That may be why he was abandoned in the first place, sadly. You could potentially find a new home where they wouldn't care, like if it was a big farm and they were already hearing that anyway.

Don't let him ruin the whole chicken experience. Roosters often do so for people. Some birds (female or male, but mostly male) just do not work out in a particular flock or a particular set up. Cockerels and roosters are where the romance of keeping chickens meets reality as AArt says.

Let him go, and enjoy your flock.

Mrs K

Don't let him ruin the whole chicken experience. Roosters often do so for people. Some birds (female or male, but mostly male) just do not work out in a particular flock or a particular set up. Cockerels and roosters are where the romance of keeping chickens meets reality as AArt says.

Let him go, and enjoy your flock.

Mrs K
I was hit with the harsh reality just recently.