1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Extra Niacin? Treats??

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by kara_leigh, Feb 27, 2012.

1. kara_leigh

kara_leigh Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2011
    Bradleyville, MO
    I'm new to ducks. I've read that Niacin is important for their leg development. The feed that we got for them is DuMOR Chick Starter/Grower 20%. One of the reviews said it wasn't good for ducks b/c it didn't have enough Niacin so their ducks were having problems with their legs.

How would I go about making sure that they get enough Niacin? What foods can I give them to ensure this? The person in the review mentioned giving them brewers yeast. Does that work? How much would I give them? Can you give them just any yeast? I have some yeast for my bread machine, can I give them that?

Also...what kind of treats can I give my ducks? They are living in an xl dog crate in our house for the time being. I will be putting them in a chicken tractor on nice days as much as possible, but I need to wait until they are big enough to let them out to free range with my chickens. I want to make sure they are getting enough greens and such, but I'm not sure if there are any foods that I shouldn't be giving them. KWIM?

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...ies-in-goslings-ducklings-growth-leg-problems

you might enjoy reading this information..

3. Miss Lydia

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.