Feb 16th hatch-a-long

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by juliaaa, Feb 16, 2012.

1. juliaaa

juliaaa Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2011
    Syracuse, New York
    Hello everyone... I just put my first set of eggs in the incubator, this is my first time hatching eggs. I have 24 rhode island red eggs, 9 pure silkie eggs and 6 white silkie hen and silkie/chocin rooster eggs.

I'm already walking back in the room a few times to make sure everything is ok. I can already see this becoming addicting, it is a good thing we live on a farm lol

Anyone else put some in today?

I'm a nervous wreck and don't want to mess it up. I got the 9 pure silkie eggs for Valentine's day and really hope they hatch and I end up with more silkies lol

Aside from reading articles, does anyone have any first timer tips?

I added a picture of them in there. I don't have egg turners but hope to get them with the next hatch (shhh don't tell the other half I plan on hatching more eggs lol)

NOT SURE WHY THE PICTURE IS SIDEWAYS BUT HERE THEY ARE!
    [​IMG]

2. AngelaPenny

AngelaPenny Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2012
    I'm in. I just set 21 eggs. Second round for me.

3. Oakieridge

Oakieridge Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2012
    Lincoln Co., OK
    Well technically "I" didn't set any eggs but there is a kind local man that will hatch eggs for you for a small fee. Since we don't have an incubator yet we chose to let someone else "set" the eggs for us. They went in yesterday so hopefully by the 7th or 8th we will have some babies. We only had 14 fertile (or what we think are fertile) eggs so hopefully I get 5 or 6 chicks from them.

Cathie

4. gamebirdsonly

gamebirdsonly Overrun With Chickens

Mar 5, 2007
    UTAH
    I will be putting some in shortly after I go collect eggs in couple hours.

5. juliaaa

Jul 15, 2011
    Syracuse, New York