Fighting Peacock

Bird Ranger

Chirping
Apr 8, 2017
Lahore,Pakistan.

I am a newbie to peafowl world.I built a pen in my lawn and brought 3 peacocks(IB) and 2 peahens.one male and female are a breeding pair and other three are their yearlings.3 weeks ago one yearling male died(could not figureout the cause as i am a newbie).The breeding season started for my peas 2 weeks ago with the adult peahen laying an egg.After this my adult male started pecking at and chasing the yearling male whose condition started looking miserable.I built a partition in the pen but it reduced space for others so I had the yearling male transported away(at a walk of 10 minutes from my home). Now I am looking to bring back the yearling when the peahen sits on her eggs to incubate and hatch them.Would it be safe to bring back the yearling male?I was hoping some one would advise me on this fighting.
Everyone who reads this plz give the best suggestions and advises about the peafowl that they themseves have experienced and gone through with ther peas.

Last edited:
Peafowl males need to be separated during breeding season or they will likely severely injure or kill each other. This doesn't occur so much if they're free range but until breeding season is over they should probably not be kept in the same pen. As for the one that died it is likely that it died of disease.

There are exceptions to every rule and here is one. These two brothers have not been separated since they hatched. they have a harem of eight hens and do not fight (yet)
fl.gif
I have had sons and daughters, yearlings, in a breeding pens without problems too. It really depends on the birds, they are like kids and have their own personalities.