FIRST EGG

Yesterday, I found my first REAL egg too! It's so cute! How eggciting! I had a few girls checking out the nesting boxes (actually entering them this time). I think I'm going to have to temporarily block off the rest of the coop during the day, because I had one girl (probably the egg layer) trying to make a nest on the coop floor, right next to the nesting boxes. This egg was just randomly dropped next to their water bucket in the pen.

20230629_140129.jpg

I'm not too experienced, but I'm pretty sure it's normal for deformed eggs when pullets first start laying. My quail could start laying now or in the next few weeks, and I'm super excited to see what they make.
Thank you! How exciting! That first egg really is like Christmas morning!
Yesterday, I found my first REAL egg too! It's so cute! How eggciting! I had a few girls checking out the nesting boxes (actually entering them this time). I think I'm going to have to temporarily block off the rest of the coop during the day, because I had one girl (probably the egg layer) trying to make a nest on the coop floor, right next to the nesting boxes. This egg was just randomly dropped next to their water bucket in the pen.

View attachment 3560940
Yes so very exciting!! I haven’t had to block anything off yet. Most of the time I’m finding eggs in the nesting boxes but I have found 1 on the coop floor, 1 in the run, and 1 under my porch 🤦🏻‍♀️😂

Thank you! How exciting! That first egg really is like Christmas morning!

Yes so very exciting!! I haven’t had to block anything off yet. Most of the time I’m finding eggs in the nesting boxes but I have found 1 on the coop floor, 1 in the run, and 1 under my porch 🤦🏻‍♀️😂