first hatch didnt go se well :( some questions

Loretta212

Songster
8 Years
Sep 27, 2011
Meriden ct
so i barrowed an incubator from a family memeber and started with 2 dz silkie eggs. I wasnt given all the instructions and just fallowed what my uncle had to say which was a little "off" to say the least. i didnt even know to put water in the incubator. well so far i have one happy chick and one tried to hatch and died i have some other eggs that i can see veins in the air bubble. they were supposed to hatch yesterday. should i give them another day or just give up? I was also told its a little late in the year to be trying to hatch is that true?

most people say the hatches are better in the spring idk this is my first year hatching....i did get better in the spring...but ... I still try. I usually give mine till day 24-25 just to be on the safe side...good luck
fl.gif

Oh no! Sorry about your first hatch not turning out so well. It sounds like you're learning, especially about the humidity. Do a search to see what eggs should look like on day 20 when you candle them. There are some beautiful photos available online. Your egg should be almost completely dark, as it should be full of chicken.

The only way you are going to learn is by doing your research...I highly recommend some of the sticky threads in this forum. Also, read up on the type of incubator you have to see how to use it correctly. When you do have a good hatch, it will all be worth it.
smile.png

Good luck!

yeah i cant see thru the rest of the eggs i can see into the air bubble and see some veining it them as well i think i will give them a couple more days the silkie chick i have is oh so very cute and active
smile.png

Quote:
I would give it another day. It won't hurt anything.