First incubator eggs due in 4-5 days

Kimmyh51

Songster
8 Years
Nov 16, 2015
First attempt at incubator hatch:

Hi guys, the time is approaching for my first ever incubator ducklings to hatch, though I have had ducks for a couple of years now and have observed, candled and assisted in plenty of naturally incubated hatches. However this is my first attempt at hatching eggs 100% without the aid of a duck (apart from laying the egg obviously!)
I have a couple of questions/concerns.
As a background, here is my incubator setup, plus my candling observations so far...

My still air incubator is home made and consists of the following:
A small chilly bin(cooler/esky) with a light fitting and a standard 60watt fluorescent bulb
Controlled by a temperature controller I purchased online which has a probe which is placed where I choose within the incubator, and has been placed on or between the eggs closest to the light.
Temperature is set to the temperature in Celsius I choose and when it gets 0.1 degrees below the set temp, the lightbulb is turned on, and as soon as it hits the target temp the bulb goes back off.
I originally set it at 37.5 but noticed a second thermometer i placed in there kept showing higher temps just over 40. That thermometer was a cheap one and prob not reliable, but was showing the correct temp when I out it in my armpit. So I decided it was better to risk the temp being a little low, than too high and adjusted the setting on the temperature controller to 37.00 so when it hits 36.9 the bulb goes on. I was going to put a fan in from my old laptop but read that in many cases hatch rates were better with still air, so decided to go ahead without a fan this time, and simply set up an initial 5 eggs in the incubator, facing air cell upward in a old egg carton i cut up for this purpose.
I have been turning the eggs 3 times daily,by hand and sprinkling a bit of water over them when I turn them.
I have also been cancelling them from a few days in.