First prolapse vent issue

KCref

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 31, 2013
First, I'm new to chicken keeping. We have 25 mix of large breeds at 8 weeks old. This morning one bird did not come out of the coop when I opened the door. This is unusual, generally all 25 birds run out to see what ever the new day my bring. When I opened the coop to check food and water and add some bedding I saw the bird that did not come out. The bird had clear eyes and was attentive to my voice but still strange that the bird did not go outside. I put some water in the waterer and the birdcame over for some water. I noticed that there was some wet, bloody looking discahrge hanging from the rear end of the bird. I checked the bird and there was definitely blood and poop caked around her vent and what looked like a big peice of poop hanging from the birds vent. I got a bucket of warm water and a cloth, cleaned the birds vent area and thought that maybe what was hanging from the vent was a big peice of poop.

Prolapse vent was something I had read about and associated this with egg laying.There is no way a bird this young could be laying, right? and honestly, I thought rooster not pullet, but what do I know...real close to nothing...about chickens. With the blood, I expected to see a wound and was thinking predator.

Went inside got the wife did some quich research on BYC. While the wife started a warm water bath I went and got the bird. We gave her the spa treatment of a warm water bath and checked the area again, now thinking we have a prolapse situation. I used some vasoline and massaged the area until the protrusion "went back in," everything looked normal again. I lathered the area with vasoline and put the bird in her own small box with some water here in the house.

There was some milky discharge that came out of the vent right after the prolapse was returned. The wife thinks we should avoid food so that we do not create the need to poop too soon...still talking about the bird :).