FIRST TIME CHICKEN RAISER!!!

Passionfruitx

Hatching
6 Years
May 2, 2013
Hi everyone!
smile.png

I just got two female chickens today and I am excited to raise them. This is my first time ever!!! They are 13 weeks old. My friend, who raised them when they were young said that they should be laying eggs when they are about 18 weeks old. I got them because I wanted them as pet and I wanted fresh organic eggs. :)

I have a Delaware and a Brown Leghorn.

So far the Delaware is so nice and calm. She's my favorite out of the two. The Brown Leghorn is not use to the coop yet. She doesn't like to be held and is always running away or hiding. :( I just got them today though so I am hoping that they will get use to me more!!!

In the the near future (HOPEFULLY SOMETIME THIS MONTH) I want to get two more chickens. I am thinking of an Ameraucana and a Silkie, or two Ameraucanas. Because one lays blue/greenish eggs and the other is fluffy and funny looking and is friendly. I want a variety of chickens that are friendly and pretty to look at and play with, at the same time get eggs from. I am thinking about getting the next two as baby chicks because that will be a neat experience. I hope that they will all get along!!!

As of now, two chickens will be good. I hope to learn more about chickens!!! Any comments and tips will be greatly appreciated! THANK YOU!!!!!

welcome to the site :D warning keeping chickens becomes addictive and will take over your life :D The leghorn should be a fantastic layer for you they lay a few (the white ones lay more than the other colour varieties tho) I have heard they can be quite flighty tho! but hopefully with enough time she will get used to you enough to let you hold her :)

enjoy your time with your feathery friends :D