First Time Letting a Hen Hatch an Egg

citychickinthecountry

Songster
10 Years
Oct 14, 2009
Gainesville, Florida
This is my first time letting any of my hens hatch an egg. I have a Bantam Cochin that has been terribly broody, and I decided to let her try and hatch and egg and get it out of her system for a little while.

She is stilling in a small coop (where the hens all usually lay their eggs). She has good ventilation, but is shielded from weather and drafts. I put a small food and water dish in the small coop with her.

I try to make her get off the nest once a day to eat and drink (and sometimes she goes outside with the other chickens for about 10 minutes). I just want to make sure she doesn't dehydrate or go hungry (hence the food and water in the coop with her).

Is there anything else that I need to do for her?

Sounds like you're doing everything right.
Your little broody will do the rest!
Keeping food/water close by is always a good idea.

Sometimes it seems they NEVER get off the nest (but they do when they absolutely HAVE to).
I would not worry about removing her from her nest; she'll get off when she's ready.
Hens tend to go into a zen-like state when they're brooding eggs and I would not disrupt that.
She brings herself out of this state, then she gets off the eggs to go relieve herself.

Make sure the other hens do not have access to her nest since they will want to lay their eggs there and your broody will steal those eggs and end up trying to hatch thousands.
(Been there, done that.)

Good luck! And do post pics when the chicks hatch!!

smile.png

What AlienChick said.