First timer Day 19- Going crazy!!

Soon2Bchickymom

In the Brooder
7 Years
Jun 28, 2012
Hi everyone! This is my first time incubation chicken eggs (we thought it would be a super fun super project for the kids) Well today is day 19, and I have to admit I am going a little crazy!! We statred out with 5 eggs, one never developed, one didn't make it (started to smell and was no longer moving at day 13) So we have our three little eggy babies left, we candled them late on day 17 before we put them into lock down, it was difficult to see anything at all but thought we could see some movement on all of them. All day long yesterday I was running back and forth to the incubator to see if anything was happening yet! lol ( I have the patience of a toddler) This morning my husband woke me up and said he saw them wiggling around in the incubator. I of course ran out of bed and was super excited to see them wiggling too!! I went to the movies with the kids and when we came home I noticed the water in the bottom of the incubator was very low. I wasn't sure what to do so I went ahead and opened the lid VERY quickly too add some more water. I am still not sure it was the right thing to do, especially not after reading about opening the lid causing the chicks to be shrink wrapped inside the eggs, and because we haven't seem them wiggle at all since. HELP...did I doom my eggs?!?! I am such a worry wart, they are probably just resting right?? I never realized how nerve racked I would be at the end.

Thanks for any thoughts, advice, opinions and encouragemt!