Foraging ability and pest control

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by cottagechick, Jan 27, 2012.

1. cottagechick

cottagechick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2011
    Cottage Grove, Oregon
    I see "foraging ability" listed as some of the Excellent, good, or fair....what exactly is the difference between a good forager and an excellent forager in practical terms for my little place.

2. m.kitchengirl

m.kitchengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Maine
    I am no expert, so if I am wrong I hope someone with more years under their belt will weigh in, too.
    I believe foraging ability is measured by how much of a breed's diet can we expect to come from foraging & how much supplemental feed is needed for each breed through out the year.

I keep Ancona ducks and, honestly, they haven't gone through much more feed each day than they did in the summer. They were ducklings though, and eating constantly. Now we give them 2 quart scoops each day, and there is always PLENTY of feed left in the bowl when I collect it at night. When they are out in the yard & back garden they happily root through the snow & make the little, contented ducks sounds they make when they are happily foraging away in spring. I have no idea what they are finding out there this time of year, but they stay busy, and look just fine, so I think they are getting enough between table scraps, forage & their feed.

Hope this helps, and if I am wrong, that someone smarter will weigh in.

Last edited: Jan 28, 2012
  3. hollyk

hollyk Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2008
    Canton, Texas
    I had Cayuga ducks and once the weather warmed they showed no interest in their feed bowls. I do believe they would have gotten most of their food on their own. So, if you have a small place and are choosing, I would go with a good to excellent rating. I choose ducks to live in my garden to eat pests, so therefore I wanted the best foragers I could get.

4. Miss Lydia