Free range vs cooped up

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by clsully, Jun 16, 2011.

1. clsully

clsully New Egg

Jun 15, 2011
    What I wonder is how many folks in suburbia with backyard chickens keep them in the run and coop all the time, as opposed to allowing them out during the day and then having them 'cooped up' at night?

2. gunnarmcc

gunnarmcc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2011
    SSF, CA
    im relatively new to this but i keep my birds in their coop/run when i am gone and at night but i leave the door to the run open during the day when i am home and can get them back in the coop if i need to

3. stilldeb

stilldeb Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    NW Kentucky
    Mine have a large run attached to their coop, but come out in the yard with supervision, due to hawks in the area.

deb g

4. kimntep

kimntep Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2010
    Ocala, Florida
    Mine are always cooped up at night, when we aren't home, and until around 4 in the afternoon. They free range till they put themselves to bed, but one of us always goes out to check on everyone, make sure all is accounted for, and lock them up. They have plenty of yard area that is covered and attached to the coop so they can get in the coop out of weather if need be or dust, play, etc. outside. It is working great and I've had no predator problems since reinforcing after one coon attack that killed 2, but we live in a pretty rural area. In my case, I didn't let them free range till they were quite large, so I think they got used to their immediate area and I don't have to worry about them getting too far from home even tho we live on 57 acres. All 17 are usually within eyesight of the house.

5. wenlo

wenlo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2010