freezing water in winter?

campdirector

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 7, 2011
Michigan City, IN
Hey all,

I am sure this question has been asked before but I am pretty new to BYC so here goes. I live in NW Indiana and just built a nice large coup for my critters. The past few years when the weather turned and it got reeeaaalllll cold, its coming next week, I had to trek out to the coop with a bucket of hot water to thaw out the waterers. I did this everyday...last winter in several feet of Lake effect snow. : ) A little background: The coop is about 300 feet from the house and has no access to electricity so heat tape or space heater is not an option. Any ideas on how to prevent the water from freezing or am I pretty much stuck burning calories walking out to the coop everyday? We have 2 pygmy goats as well in the barn next door so would like to apply ideas to them as well. Thanks for the help guys and gals!

scott

Last edited:
Boy, I hope you get some answers. I live in Va, so it doesn't get THAT cold here, but we get some wonky weather sometimes. And there's always a couple months of thawing waterers for me too. I've always assumed that was my only option. My coop is also a good ways away from our house, with no hope of electricity. I guess all I'm trying to say is I feel your pain, and you aren't alone. Those folks with electricity in their coops are very lucky. Maybe someone can offer some advice for both of us!

Well i am in the same boat, I have carried water to my gaots and chickens for years. I leave the cat litter jugs filled with hot water in a cooler at my barn.
The cooler helps keep the water from freezing over nite. I then top the water off each morning.
I use for my goats a couple old tires filled with straw in the bend of the tire.I place a 5 gallon bucket in the center of the tire and fill with water. It helps
to keep the water from freezing.You may have to break the top but it helps.