From 5 Hens to 1...not a good day

mama579

Hatching
6 Years
Aug 6, 2013
Hi everyone,
I'm new to being a chicken owner, about 3 months in. Yesterday I came home and found 4 of my hens killed and one in bad shape. My cocker spaniel managed to get into the pen and killed my beloved hens. I never realized how much I would love being a chicken owner, but they all had their own personalities and were just a joy to have.
I want to get more and I've read a lot about how to introduce them. I'm waiting to give my hen some recovery time after the massacre. Any suggestions as whether to get chicks and just keep them separated or to get hens around the same age. I just can't handle another loss and would hate for a new flock to come in and hurt her.
As for our cocker...she's low on the totem pole right now. Any suggestions about the dog situation?
Thank you!

Greetings from Kansas, mam579, and welcome to BYC! Sorry to hear about the carnage. Here's a link for introducing birds to the flock.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=2593-adding-to-your-flock

There are pros and cons to both adult hens and to chicks. I think with chicks you form a better bond. With adults that are ready to lay, you pay a higher price upfront but you would have likely paid the same amount over time to raise the chicks to adulthood. Whatever your choice, good luck to you! With the dog..there are a lot of threads on BYC about dogs & chickens ranging from why it's a bad idea to how some folks (me included) use their dogs to keep predators away. Type those words - dog and chicken - into the BYC search bar and do some reading. Best wishes!!

Thank you redsoxs! My lab is great with the chickens and I was surprised my cocker spaniel was so aggressive. I know they're animals so it's no surprise, but I had thought they'd be better at warding off predators instead of being them. I'll check out the link. Appreciate it!

welcome-byc.gif