Geese as night guards for home

bitambo

In the Brooder
Dec 6, 2021
Greetings from Kampala - Uganda
There was a break in at my home just over 24 hours, climbed over wall after cutting razor wire.
They took a neighbor's side mirrors for his Subaru but did not touch my ramshackle Hardbody.
They will come back, we had a night watchman some 5 years back for a short time but were told he would move out as soon as we would fall asleep.
Our yard has about 25 square meters of grass, could be cheaper than a dog or man if it can work.

Qns
1) can geese guard at night? just noise on seeing an intruder
2) we have 3 families in the enclosure, sometimes up to 9 kids of 10 years and younger, dangers?
3) will they allow us to sleep?
4)

thanks

I'm sorry to hear about the break-in. It's so unsettling when someone violates your home.

I have limited experience with geese; I just have two American Buff girls. While they will USUALLY alert me when someone is approaching the yard, they aren't completely reliable. Also, mine might run at someone and hiss, but at heart they are both big babies and will turn and run if the person stands his ground.

I have solar lights to alert me if there is a predator near my coops. Could you use some kind of solar light to wake you if someone was moving around your premises?

Best of luck in solving your problem! If you do get geese, feel free to ask any and all questions. This is a great group of helpful people who will make you feel welcome.

Geese will honk if they hear a noise, typically if they think someone they know is up and about, but if they’re scared their instinct is to be quiet, geese are more fragile than they let on and know that their best defense is to go unnoticed, so silence is preferred.
Geese will wake up in the night and honk back and forth between each other to establish all is well and everyone is present also.