Genetics and crossing breeds

kidseieio

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 24, 2010
I am a small chicken hobbyist that has had a chicken addiction for years. As I have my Roos with their girls we have enjoyed the different mixes we get. I am trying to learn more about the genetics etc but wondered if there is ever a "general" statement that can be made about crossing breeds. For example , in creating a sex link, the roo passes feather trait to girls And hen passes to baby roo's. so would this not be a general factual statement for all breed crosses? That feather color is passed to opposite sex offspring?

I am a small chicken hobbyist that has had a chicken addiction for years. As I have my Roos with their girls we have enjoyed the different mixes we get. I am trying to learn more about the genetics etc but wondered if there is ever a "general" statement that can be made about crossing breeds. For example , in creating a sex link, the roo passes feather trait to girls And hen passes to baby roo's. so would this not be a general factual statement for all breed crosses? That feather color is passed to opposite sex offspring?

There are very few general statements that can be made concerning chicken genetics. You have to look at each gene and how that gene is expressed in a chicken and how the gene interacts with other genes in a chicken to produce a phenotype ( birds appearance).

The only ones that I know of are the principles of genetics; dominance verses recessive, sex linkage, hypostatic vs epistatic, autosomal linkage, independent assortment, etc.