Getting close to final plans

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by busbees, Dec 21, 2009.

1. busbees

busbees Out Of The Brooder

Dec 18, 2009
    After lots and lots of reading, I am getting close to deciding what to build, etc. I am brand new to this, so I would like any feedback on what I have decided.

1) Will build a 8' x 8' x 8' house. Roof will be sloped from front to back so that water will drain outside of run area and to the downslope side of the hill. House will be elevated 16" on blocks. Plan on putting cheap linoleum on plywood floor.

2) Nesting boxes will accessible from the outside.

3) Plan on using pine pellets. Not sure whether to use deep litter method or not. (anyone with experience with pellets and deep litter?)

4) Will use droppings board that is covered with linoleum.

These are the basics. Pretty sure I can figure out best places for windows, vents, perches. I plan on starting with 10 chickens- can expand later if desired.

5) Need input on good breeds for large brown eggs.

Thanks in advance for suggestions and questions!

2. valentinebaby

valentinebaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2009
    Sherman-Denison, TX
    Check out my BYC page - mine is made similar to what you are wanting. Wish I hadn't built as tall as I did, cuz I really don't spend THAT much time in the coop - should have made it bigger in floor space - live and learn!

1. Don't make the mistake I did and use see-through plastic roofing - great for light - hail ruined it! Expensive lesson learned. Mine is sloped, elevated and has cheap vinyl - the only way to go on a floor - makes clean-up much easier.

2. Can't imagine having to go inside a coop every day to gather eggs, so I agree on the outside nesting boxes.