Getting my first chicks next week! Scared to death!!

Hopefulloflove

Chirping
8 Years
Jul 18, 2011
Benson, NC
ok, so I am going to pick up our very first baby chicks next week. I am really nervous! I think I have everything ready! I bought a kiddie pool, some chicken wire, feeders, waterers, and feed already! I also bought a heat lamp. I am just scared that I will do something wrong and one of them will die!! Does that sound crazy?! Anyways, tell me I can do this!

Thanks!
Kate

You can do it! It's not as hard as you think. And if you need help, we're here for you! How old are they going to be when you get them? Are they coming from a breeder, hatchery...?

Hi Kate,

I am new to chickens also. Got my first chicks in May. Eight of them....they are all fine. I was worried when they were little because I had never had then before and with everything I read on BYC, I was just sure that something dreadful would happen. I probably spent too much time reading about all the things that could go wrong. lol Anyway...mine are all fine. They are living outside in their coop and happy as can be. They are happy to see me because I bring them food. They don't jump in my lap or like to be held but that's ok with me. I am looking forward to the eggs. They have provided me with entertainment...they are so fun to watch in the yard.

Anyway, I think you will do fine. Plus everyone here is so helpful if you have any questions. Good luck and keep us informed!

Regards,
Ginny

Mine are coming in the mail next week too! It really isnt hard!! They are so much fun!!! What breed are you getting? Im getting silkies!!!! And yes if you need any help we are here for!!!!