Getting to know you

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Henriettasmum, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Henriettasmum

Henriettasmum Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi guys, I have been posting to BYC for about 12 months now - just a newbie to this site and just a bit longer as a chicken lover. In fact all things feathered are welcome at my home so long as they behave themselves. I an 72 years old, a bit decrepit these days but my birds give me a lot of enjoyment. My husband is disabled but he can help me build shelters and enclosed runs for the birds, which I'm sure he loves every bit as much as I do. I started with just 2 Australorp hens for the eggs, but I have since discovered that even doing this is the ruination of our previous lives. We become a little mad and the flock grows ... and grows ... and grows. At the moment, I think I have over 50 birds. Far too many of them are roosters but I love them too much to get rid of them. I'm scared someone will want to eat them!

I love in Far North Queensland, Australia, on the top of a mountain on the Atherton Tablelands. Great weather. Even though we are in the tropics (150 kms from Cairns) the winters get a bit of a nip to the air. Southerners from Sydney and Melbourne think we're crazy when we say at 20 degrees Celsius that we are really feeling the cold.

I look forward to getting more involved and posting many more comments; and learning. I hope to get to know more members as time goes on.

Cheers for now.

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. "Getting to know you" - I recall the song, but can't remember which musical / film it came from (and it will be going around in my tiny mind for the next few hours, I'm sure [​IMG]). It sounds like you have been bitten well and truly by the chicken maths bug, which is no bad thing.

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre