golden comet with longer "bottom" beak than top

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by elizabethg, Jun 18, 2009.

1. elizabethg

elizabethg Hatching

Jun 18, 2009
    Hey all
    I'm new to BYC but have had chickens for over a year now. I recently got a golden comet who has a longer bottom beak than top. This makes it difficult for her to eat properly and when she eats from the feeder, she puts so much effort into it that she wastes as much as she eats and it's all over the ground. She also isn't as healthy looking as the other birds although she is laying great. Is there anything I can do? I feel like taking a nail clippers (I won't!) and making it even but I know it's not that easy.

Thanks for any info/advice.

Elizabeth

2. Actually, it is that easy... Just make sure your nail clippers are very sharp. I personally use a dremel. BTW, chickens can bite pretty hard, so be careful!

3. It sounds like she's been debeaked. Could she have come from a commercial laying farm?

4. elizabethg

elizabethg Hatching

Jun 18, 2009
    she's not been debeaked, her top beak is formed perfectly. Should I expect any bloodshed (from the hen!) if/when I snip the bottom beak?

5. chickenlittle32

chickenlittle32 Songster

Apr 19, 2009
    Rayne Louisiana
    Maybe no bloodshed for her, but be careful. The bloodshed could be from either you or someone that is helping if you aren't holding her well enough.

6. PhlyinPheBee

PhlyinPheBee Poodles, Chicken, Goats--OH MY!!

Mar 11, 2009
    Northeast Louisiana
    [​IMG]

7. beakkeeper

beakkeeper Songster

Jul 20, 2008
    Quote:[​IMG] [​IMG]

8. Judy

Judy Crowing

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia