Got my meaties today!

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by DianeS, Mar 16, 2012.

1. DianeS

DianeS Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    Oregon
    I got my meatie chickens today! Was going to order them from Welp, but checked a local feed store first and they were 24 cents cheaper there... so I walked out with 25 Cornish Rocks (and 4 Rhode Island Red).

I love looking at them today, but also looking forward to them getting ugly so its easier to imagine them in my freezer. [​IMG]

I have never done the day-old thing before. I've always gotten adults, even when I did Cornish crosses before. But I have everything put together except I can't test the extension cord that I think is faulty because it's pouring rain outside. So the chickies get to stay indoors tonight, and go to the outdoor brooder tomorrow. They're all peeping noisily on the kitchen table right now.

[​IMG]

2. hydroswiftrob

hydroswiftrob Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2011
    N. Texas
    My Coop
    Awesome!!!! Looks like you got 4 ducks also, with them swimming in the water. :p

3. DianeS

DianeS Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    Oregon
    LOL! Yeah, I didn't set up their waterer since I don't have anywhere to hang in in the plastic bin. I figured it would be at least difficult to drown in 1/8 of an inch of water - hopefully I don't have any over-achievers in the bunch who want to test that.[​IMG]

4. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    Don't worry about those meat birds getting ugly. By the time they are 8 weeks old, you will be ready for them to go. They are going to get a lot bigger faster than the RIR. :thumbsup

5. annabananaandfamily

annabananaandfamily Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Maine