Graphic, prolapsed vent?

cottontail farm

Crowing
6 Years
Dec 26, 2014
Rural NW Pa
I did not do an autopsy but probably should have. I culled this hen this evening, she was hunched up and the red bulge was quite bigger while she was alive and not on her back. After she was dead I was pressing on her abdomen and felt an egg right above the vent that seemed to be stuck sideways. Was this what people call a prolapse or something different?
20200709_210550.jpg

A necropsy is probably not worth the money or time (if you do it yourself). There is a possibility that something "scary" was stressing her out. Or she may have had a disease. Haven't seen that in my flock.

Does any of your other flock show signs of anything similar?

Are you somewhere hot? And did she have access to water? She looks a bit dehydrated.

But like I said, could be a disease, I'm not a pro at sickness...

A necropsy is probably not worth the money or time (if you do it yourself). There is a possibility that something "scary" was stressing her out. Or she may have had a disease. Haven't seen that in my flock.

Does any of your other flock show signs of anything similar?

Are you somewhere hot? And did she have access to water? She looks a bit dehydrated.

But like I said, could be a disease, I'm not a pro at sickness...

All of the other quail got looked at and are fine. I've had quail for years and this is a first for me. Yes, it's been super hot here, everyone's water gets checked twice a day and she was never without. Ugh, hopefully this was just a fluke.

Yes, this is a prolapse. Was likely egg bound. Why did you cull?
This was my first time seeing this. I culled because her posture indicated she was in pain, it looked horrible and from what I can remember reading about (with chickens anyway) she was likely to keep prolapsing with each future egg. It's also super hot here and (sorry, gross) flies would have been a concern.