Guess what I saw

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Hotwings, Mar 31, 2008.

1. Hotwings

Hotwings Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2007
    southwestern Michigan
    I am hoping I am posting this in the right place. Sat on my weekly visits to Freebie's farm I was informed of a new visitor to her flock. Denise's brother spotted it and thought it was a wild turkey! By his discription Denise thought it was a guinea bird. Well someone said while looking down at the barn that the new bird showed up again! I looked out and sure enough it was a guinea bird! I went down to get a closer look. I am sorry I don't have a digital camera so no pics. It was an adult pearl grey guinea. My theory is he escaped or the owners got fed up with him and kicked him out. I am not an expert on guinea but is it normal for them to stray from their own flocks? He/she seems to been accepted by her(Denise) birds. He makes alot of noise always chirping, so I can see why people would get tired of them if they had about 6 of them chirping away all the time ha ha. Maybe her barred rocks think he is just a ugly barred rock visitor. Denise said he roosted in the barn's rafters sat night. I don't know if he is still there yet.

On another note I like to add to this post that their orphan piglets are doing fine. They have been moved to the the chicken nursey. I got to hole one and it squeled so loud I thought it would break my eardrums. They are thriving on the goats milk in a pan. Denise buy goats milk in a powdered form and mixes it with water and heats it up. She told me it costs $11.00 for a gallon! I told her she should buy her own dairy goats for that price.
  2. d.k

d.k red-headed stepchild

*oh,yeah! goat's milk is expensive!! It was a lot even 25 yrs. ago when I was having to buy it for my younger son as an infant. Makes you hairy as a goat, too-- If the grown version is any example. . . [​IMG]
  3. Freebie

Freebie Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2007