Guinea Hens

Chilebound

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 15, 2010
I am new to the chicken thing, this is my second year, and second try. Last Thanksgving my neighbors dog killed my whole flock. I now have two seperate flocks, one in a tractor and freerange, and the other in a coop and run so if dog comes again I will have some left. Anyway I started all this chicken stuff because I am a gardener and I hoped they would eat bugs. While they eat some, they eat more tomatoes and stuff than bugs....I heard Guinea hens do better at the bug thing, but do they get a long ok with chickens? does anyone have them? and also I heard that they make a lot of noise-true? (while I live on an unrestricted 2 acre lot, it is in the middle of a very restricted neighborhood--I have the original farm house---I can have what ever I want --but I dont want my house burned down, or to be shot at etc) what about eggs, do they lay? any info would help!

Guineas are awesome bug eaters - between me and my neighbor we have 11 total. Their favorite things are ticks and beatle bugs that I've seen. They get along fine with chickens - especially if they are raised around them - they will bully them if they share the same feeding area however - guineas don't take no slack - lol.

However -yes they can and do make a loud ruckus. Its not constant - but if they see predators - i.e. hawks overhead, dogs they aren't familiar with, cats, etc... they will make warning calls and if they are excited or seperated they will call to each other. The sound can travel a good distance - I live on 2 acres and the neighbor owns 3-3.5ish - and the guineas can be in his back yard I can easily hear them from my front yard (neighbor lives behind me) so if that gives you any idea. Inside the house I can hardly hear them at all and they can be just ouside in my yard.

Also - if your going to let them free range - good luck on finding their eggs - the hens prefer to lay in the woods or in flower beds
wink.png