Guineas and chickens in same pen and coop?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by MA Mama, Apr 12, 2012.

1. MA Mama

MA Mama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2012
    MA
    Hello! I just hatched 2 guinea with my chicken chicks, and as chicks they appear to get along without issue. If I continue to raise them together (they will access a big outdoor pen with fee range a few days a week, same coop), will they be OK together? Also, I am really hoping that my chicken hens will hatch some of their own babies, so would the guineas threaten the safety of the chicks? I have no experience with guinea whatsoever, so feel free to state what may be obvious to you all, but not to me! THANKS in advance for your insight!

2. Bantam girls

Bantam girls Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2009
    I have my guinea hens in the same coop and run as my chickens. Once in a while one of my guineas will pick on the others but generally they get along great. The guineas do not enjoy being in the hen house at all and actually perch outside in the run pretty much year round unless it is bitter cold or raining and cold out. The guinea hens have actually alerted me to fox and racoons in the middle of the night and were in my opinion responsible for saving all the lives of the chickens so they can put up with a little bullying once in a while. The guineas also alert when a hawk is near. I have to say that since I have had guineas and chickens together for the last 6 years, I have not lost a single bird at all! They free range all day and even then they stick together!

3. MA Mama

MA Mama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2012
    MA