had to pull egg out of duck

zoerat

In the Brooder
9 Years
Apr 19, 2010
its like theres no shell now im wondering if thats why my other duck died is this lack of grit or what? she has layed beautiful eggs but the last 3 have basically had no shell and are very slimy the yolk looks fine

Well I am no expert on ducks but I do know if you get an egg right after it is laid, the shell is really thin and slimy. if you wait about thirty minutes after the eggs are laid the shell is harder and the slimy stuff is gone.

Grit is for digestion. Ducks that free range during the day usually don't necessarily need it, but it doesn't hurt to offer it periodically. We offer it once per week even though our ducks are out during daylight hours.

The most common cause of thin-shelled eggs is dietary deficiency. What are you feeding the hens? They should be on a good quality layer feed so they get enough calcium and protein. You can also put out a dish of free-choice oyster shell for extra calcium, but many laying hens don't need that if they're on high-quality feed. It won't hurt to put some out if you put it in a place your drakes (if you have any) can't get to it. Too much calcium can cause kidney damage in drakes.

I've read that pests and environmental factors, like the hen being out of sorts about something, can cause this as well, but I'm not very familiar with those potential causes. There are a lot of very knowledgeable people who frequent this board who can probably tell you what to look for as far as those go.

Something I do to increase calcium is use liquid calcium gluconate, available at feed stores. The recommended amount (from my vet) is a teaspoon per half cup of water. I add that to their food, actually, since they splash so much water, and it can get on their feathers and be a little sticky. I want more in them not on them.