hatchability of porous eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by roxie03, Mar 12, 2009.

1. roxie03

roxie03 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2009
    School teacher here....I will admit that I am a novice but when I candled my eggs most of them are speckled, which I have been told means they are porous. I've also been told that porous eggs usually will not hatch. I got my eggs from a large hatchery through a school program they offer rather than a farm. This makes me believe that my eggs stand a better chance of hatching but I'm a little concerned about them being too porous. Advice please!!! I don't want my kids to be disappointed.

2. rikku_03

rikku_03 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2009
    Anchorage
    on a post I read by Mrs. AK-Bird-Brain it says porous eggs have a good chance of hatching too except they need more humidity.
    Mrs. AK-Bird-Brain's Post

3. Ryu

Ryu Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    My standard cornish don't have great shell quality (one more thing to work on!) and occasionally I get a fairly porous egg.

They can hatch, but for me a high percentage candle as infertile. I have stopped setting them.

If they start developing they should be ok, just watch the air cell size as mentioned previously.

Good luck![​IMG]

4. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    They are very hatchable. You just need to watch the humidty better if you are using a styrofoam incubator.

There is no difference in the internal part of a porous egg than a non porous egg.

5. Mesa

Mesa Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2008
    New Mexico
    I have porous eggs pipping today. It's looking to be my best hatch ever.... my first attempt was a dismal failure. So yes, porous eggs can hatch.

6. Kelpie

Kelpie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    Charles Town, WV
    I have had good luck with porous eggs. They are supposed to be more suseptable to bacteria but mine have done fine.

7. EweSheep