hatcheries

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by chasep, Jan 26, 2009.

1. chasep

chasep Out Of The Brooder

Jan 3, 2009
    im just trying to see what hatcheries yall order from and how they are?
    good experiences or bad experiences? share with us!
    such as i use ideal and have success from them! very nice and care for the chicks![​IMG]

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    My first group came from McMurray. 11 of 26 died the first 6 days.

I bought some juvies that came from Cackle. Nice birds... good layers.

I have no experience with anyone else.

Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  3. Country Guy John

Country Guy John Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2008
    South Carolina
    I had great experience with Cackle Hatchery. I purchased barred rocks and they sent a couple of extras. All arrived in good health and started laying at 20 weeks to the day.

4. columbiacritter

columbiacritter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2008
    Scappoose Oregon
    I've had good experience with McMurray, never a dead chick and all thriving to adulthood.

I am going to try MyPetChicken to see if I can get birds closer to breed standard.

5. jossanne

jossanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2008
    Gila, New Mexico
    I've had two orders from McMurray with great success. I love my birds. They shipped what I ordered in a timely manner. My first order, one died in shipping, two died within a day. I was left with 44 out of 47 shipped. My second order, none died in shipping, all are alive now at 6 months. I ordered 25 rainbow layers, plus the free rare and exotic, and ended up with 25 pullets. My free rare and exotic is a white polish pullet.