Hatching with a broody within a flock

PipPop

Hatching
5 Years
Apr 17, 2014
I'm ten days into hatching under my broody hen. She's very dedicated and I was wondering if I should leave her within the flock to hatch?

I have six other girls and a cockerel.

And should I put chick crumb down for the whole flock?
Also I wanted to clean out the house and move the run before they hatch, if I put her in a box for the day would it upset her and break the broodiness?

I'm new to hatching so any advice will be welcomed! X

I'm ten days into hatching under my broody hen. She's very dedicated and I was wondering if I should leave her within the flock to hatch?

Also I wanted to clean out the house and move the run before they hatch, if I put her in a box for the day would it upset her and break the broodiness?

First, I'd be prepared to make provisions to separate her after the hatch, should there be a problem with the other hens trying to harm the new chicks. It probably will be ok, but there are so many post on here "My other hens are fighting with my broody hen, what do I do now?", that its a good idea to be prepared.
If she's been setting for 10 days, I don't think putting her in a box for a few hours will end her broodiness. I wouldn't put the eggs in with her, as she will most likely break them, struggling to get out and go back to her nest. It would be best to leave her in the nest and just work around her. She won't like the activity, but is not likely to get up and leave.
welcome-byc.gif

Last edited: