Hello All of My Fellow Flocksters!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by NordicChick, Jan 4, 2017.

1. NordicChick

NordicChick Just Hatched

Jan 4, 2017
    North Central Texas
    Hey, everyone, I just joined the BYC community and feel right at home! I can tell that I am among friends when I read through some of the forums on here and can't wait to see what I'll learn next, soo much information! And, heck, who knows, maybe I'll even have a single, small, took me years to form, little Pearl of Wisdom to share with you all as well (I'll be sure to post it when I find it;)

So, I have been raising chickens for almost 8 years now (although the first year or so, I probably shouldn't count since my ignorance cost me my entire first year's flock and much of my second one). Year three, I re-started out with just 25 hatchery chicks both buff orpingtons and brahmas. However, as some of you know, chickens have a tendency to morph and multiply. Therefore, we now have over 120 chickens consisting of about 10 different breeds! I believe I may have read about this here, could this be the much discussed "chicken math? " This appears to be a common phenomenon ~:>

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Hi there NordicChick

I have already said hello on another thread but just wanted to make it official! [​IMG]

I concur with the diagnosis of chicken math. I believe there is no cure but 2 chicks a month should keep it under control [​IMG]

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, NordicChick, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined our community! You are among a great group of folks here at BYC and will fit right in! Best wishes!

4. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop