Hello BackYard Chicken members!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by olepackrat, Sep 15, 2016.

1. olepackrat

olepackrat Out Of The Brooder

Sep 13, 2016
    Central Kentucky
    This site is such a FANTASTIC resource! I've been finding useful information on practically every question I have.. you all rock! :)

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

With the exception of unexpectedly getting a few fighting roosters from a friend in FL back in mid-80's, I'm pretty new to all of this! He came over one day, with chickens in his truck and said, "Hey! Here are some fighting roosters for you!" He put up a make-shift fence around a few palm trees that I had behind my cottage and said he'd bring me left-over greens and such that he would get every week from the local grocery store for his horse. Of course, it didn't take too long before the roosters kept getting out of the make-shift area and eventually met their demise :(

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

I'm working on building a coop/run out of a truck topper that's been laying around my yard since one of my sons totaled my old Dodge pick-up truck, over a year ago. I also have accumulated some scrap landscape timbers and 2x4's that I'll be putting to use for it. Over the last several weeks, I've been feverishly researching everything chickens! I'd like to have it up and ready in the next 2-3 weeks.

(3) What breeds do you have?

I will be getting 6 Lavender Ameraucanas from a friend who's been raising chickens for almost 2 years, and I just found out this evening that my landlord, who also has 8 chickens and said he wants to get rid of 2 rock chickens before winter comes, so I think I'll be getting those, as well.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

Practically everything I've been researching on chickens brings up this site - usually at, or near, the top of the SERPs! (Pretty good SEO going on here :D)

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?