Hello from Chicago... I'm new at this.

Ducklings1986

Hatching
9 Years
Jun 18, 2010
Hello all. I am from the NW suburbs of Chicago. I have been comtemplating getting some eggs to hatch and raise here. I have never had any experience with ducklings and would need a lot of help. I have a fairly large yard and a pond next to my house. I would love if the ducks could live there after they are fully grown. Can anyone tell me what I am getting myself into? I am especially curious how much the full-grown ducks will rely on me for their survival. Thank you all.

welcome-byc.gif

It's really great that you're asking questions before getting ducks! There are a lot of really intelligent, experienced waterfowl owners on this site.

Here's my 2 cents: Releasing domestic ducks into the wild is not a good idea, it is illegal, and the ducks have a 50/50 chance of survival, if that. But the good news is that ducks don't need a pond! Get a kiddie pool, fill it up, and watch them go crazy. If you hatch and raise the ducks yourself, they will definitely depend on you for food...mine start quacking at 6:30 in the morning, on the dot, wanting me to hurry up and feed them!

I think ducks are fairly easy to care for. They don't fly or roost, so all they need is a simple shelter, like a doghouse. Fence in an area for them to run around, get a kiddie pool, and you're in business. They poop a lot, more than I ever thought possible, so consistent cleaning is a must. But they have wonderful personalities and they lay eggs that are great for eating and baking.

welcome-byc.gif

Ducklings1986...Welcome to BYC! Chickentoes is right...there are so many helpful and supportive waterfowl owners on here...and they are always willing to help out and give advice. Just remember that if you're not sure...you can always ask. Better safe than sorry...and when it comes to raising animals...there are NO stupid questions!
thumbsup.gif