Hello from Jamestown, SC

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rwood5093, Jan 18, 2017.

1. Rwood5093

Rwood5093 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 30, 2016
    Jamestown, SC
    Good morning from Jamestown, SC. Located 45 miles North of Charleston, and close to McClellanville and Moncks Corner. We live on 8 acres in the middle of the Francis Marion National Forest. We're fairly rural - nearest Tractor supply is about 30 miles away, nearest grocery store is 25 miles. No neighbors, except for the bears, deer, bobcat, fox, raccoons, opossums, and bald eagles. Thought I just joined this site, I've been wanting/researching chickens for over a year. By day, we are sedentary office types - I'm a database administrator and hubby works for the Navy.

This is our first attempt at chickens or any type of farm animal, though we're pretty outdoorsy in other ways. I purchased a Urban Coop duplex on Craigslist, and am in the process of building a 12x16 run. We started out with ambitions of cutting down pine trees, stripping the bark, treating them with copper brown and building the coop like the pioneers would have (lol), but then realized it would take probably 2 months for the pine posts to dry. We didn't want to wait that long, so we are building it out of 4 inch round fence posts, 1/2" hardware cloth and PVC. Dug a 12 inch trench all the way around, buried the hardware cloth, and added bricks and chunks of wood in the hopes of stopping any diggers. We will save the cut posts for another day and another project (another coop!). I hope to make use of the endless supply of wood chips that we generate as we're slowly thinning the woods around our house.

I am guilty of loving everyone's chickens on this site, so I wanted our first flock to be a variety. But hubby thought it would be easier to go with one type (Barred Rocks) to start with. A compromise was the Plymouth Rock mix. All Rocks for him, but at least a few different colors for me.