Hello from the Upper Left Edge

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Izzywinz, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Izzywinz

Izzywinz New Egg

Jan 16, 2014
    Hello to all, from Coastal Oregon, at the end of the Lewis and Clark trail.

I'm new to chickens, starting May 2013. We bought 6 chicks from the feed store and they lived in a huge aquarium on the couch for a month, until we figured out what to do with them next. A month later my husband brought home 2 more "gift" chicks, along with 4 turkey poults that were supposed to be released to populate the wild when age-appropriate, but turned out to be double-breasted waddlers who follow us everywhere and come running and warbling to greet the UPS man.

I thought that getting 6 chicks, we might end up with 3 or 4, more than we would need. But they all thrived, and with the added 2 now it seems like just right....... until the need for more sets in.

They entertain and amuse us no end, and give presents every day - far more than we can use. All winter so far! No added light. We share them with friends.

There were 2 each Buff Orp, Barred Rock, Production Red, and the last little 2, Rhode Island Red. Now there's only 1 Buff - - - Coyote breakfast :'( after her first illicit night out on a hidden nest.

We live on rural property with 2 dogs (Collie & Cockapoo) one remaining elderly llama, 3 horses I inherited from my daughter, and 3 colonies of feral cats: the llama has his own cats, and one of the cat-groups lost its mother early so they are the kind of feral cats that follow us everywhere, stare in the windows, and climb up my husband's pantleg.