Hello, I'm New Here

Bulletproof Roo

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 14, 2013
North Central Florida
Happy to be aboard.

I've had a small backyard, free ranging (though locked up at night), flock for eggs for about three years now. Looking forward to posting and reading here.

Last edited:
welcome-byc.gif
from ohio, look forward to reading your posts!

Welcome, Bulletproof Roo! It's my first year with chickens and I have learned so much on this website. It's truly an information gold mine! Enjoy!
yippiechickie.gif

welcome-byc.gif
hope a bullet proof rooster is also predator proof - they don't carry guns
gig.gif
There's a story behind that screen name. I never intended to have a rooster, but my neighbor across the street maintains a 100% contained/enclosed flock of hens (they only have access to a very small run during the day) and had two roosters in there with them. Well, one day this past spring I see a beautiful Australorp rooster run across the street from his property over to mine. He ran onto my yard and found a bush to hide in. Then came the man who owns that property (and this rooster) out from behind his house looking around for the rooster. I asked him if he was looking for a rooster. He said yes, he had just shot him with a .22 after removing him from his enclosure, as he had decided he didn't want two roosters constantly fighting each other. He told me that after shooting him, he dropped dead to the ground motionless, so he went to get a shovel with which to bury him. When he returned with the shovel the rooster was gone. I told him where the rooster was hiding and also that, had he asked me, I would have taken him, as I don't have a rooster. He then offered me this wounded rooster if I wanted him. I turned him down because I didn't want a rooster that was likely going to die from a bullet wound. So he went back inside and left the rooster in my bushes.