Hello!!!

Kasey

Chirping
6 Years
Feb 10, 2013
Waco, TX
Hi All,

My name is Kasey and I live in Waco, TX. I am new to the chicken world but very eager to get started.

We bought our first house last August on 1.5 acres in the country about 20 mins outside of Waco. I grew up spending summers on my grandparents farm where they raised all sorts of barn animals, including laying hens. So chickens aren't totally new to be but I have never kept or raised them myself. We are converting a barn/shed, previously used to house the prior owners children's fair pigs, into a coop for my chickens.

We have leveled the dirt and are going to put up chicken wire next and hang my recently purchased metal, 10 hole nesting boxes, in preparation for my chicks. I am hoping to get them by the end of the month or early next month

I hope that this will prove to be a great source of info for me! :)

I look forward to meeting/talking with everyone!

Kasey

Greetings from Kansas, Kasey, and
welcome-byc.gif
! Pleased you joined us! You have come to the right place as BYC is the best resource around for chicken keeping. Below a good link to get you started - it's the Learning Center - where you can learn the ins and outs of chicken maintenance.

I want to comment on two things from your post. Chicken wire: this is great for keeping the chickens in but isn't good for keeping predators out. Determined raccoons, coyotes, and dogs can break through. Most disturbingly, a raccoon will reach through the holes of CW, hook a chicken and eat it from the other side of the wire! What a way to go, huh? Look up hardware cloth (heavy welded wire mesh). You will want to put around the ground perimeter and up 16" or so - some even bury it around the edge to keep diggers from burrowing in.