Help!! chick walking backward with head down!

2overeasy

Chirping
9 Years
May 28, 2010
Birchwood, TN
Just found my 4wk old columbian wyandotte chick with her head and neck tucked way down in a separate corner of the brooder. I noticed yesterday that she very oddly ran backwards for quite a few steps with her head tucked under. I just thought it was an oddity.
She is the chick that I posted on the other day but never got any responses. She is not really feathering out and has bald spots. I've tried research and found crook/wry neck but I'm still not sure I understand if that's it. She's on medicated feed. It's 9:30 at night right now and I have no way to get anything from a store til morning.
What do I do??

Last edited:
Sheesh! What do you have to do to get a post answered here? I ask legitimate questions about real problems and nothing. I've done my research first, or I wouldn't post. I'm fairly new at this, and just learning, so this is where I come for help. The person who posted about her angst over eating Lindt chocolate chicks got 5 pages!

The posts I've read about wry neck have to do, it seems, with older chicks/chickens. This is a wee one. It's late and I've nothing to give her in the way of vitamins. I have vitamin E oil that I use to put on my cuticles but I don't think that would work. She's in the house now, and has eaten some scrambled eggs.

If anyone has anything to offer, I would be most appreciative.

Thanks

You have to be a bit patient. I can't answer your question as I have no clue and just now saw the post. There are lots of posts and sometimes your post can go pages (and hours) before an answer. It doesn't mean no one cares....just that the ones who have seen it had no helpful info and the ones who may could help have not seen it yet. Hopefully you will get someone to help you. In the meantime I think bringing her in and feeding her the egg was a good start. Good luck!