Help fox attack!

jodirednose

In the Brooder
7 Years
Nov 29, 2012
This is my first time on any forum so be kind!
Anyway on Sunday it's now Thursday my chickens got attacked by a fox it killed 5 but one was still alive. I went to feed them in the morning, noticed the feathers so I just left the shed for my BF to sort out later, 15 hours later we found the living chock! Owe! however she's got a large ish bite on her back under her wing and is breathing funny, she breathes with closed beak most of the time but will suddenly jump up and open her beak to breath. She is in the house and is drinking but hasn't eaten a thing- I've just tried her with yoghurt. I'm not so concerned about her wound its more the breathing. Anyone got any good advise?

Since she's survived since Sunday, I'd say whatever you are doing is going alright. Keep offering her soft food. How about cooked egg?

I've just tried more yoghurt she seems to be eating that but it's literally a fingernail size amount. I will try egg but she seems to be having problems with solid food. How long can they live with no food? I hope she survives, it's become a bit of a mission now. My house is very cold (like 12c) so I've just put her under a heat lamp. My boyfriend says I've got til the weekend to decide whether to put her out of her misery or not. Not sure if she's in pain or not.

I had a fox attack yesterday, he killed 4 hens and seriously wounded 2 rooster (3 year old and a 6 month old). I have my 2 isolated from the rest of the girls, mine are breathing and walking ok, they have open wounds on their backs. I have mine on a special diet, egg, some warm oatmeal and some yoghurt when I get to the store. I'm not quite sure what to do either, mostly worried about their open wounds. Does anyone know if you have to clean them? I'm afraid of making them worse.