Help!! I think I killed my eggs

iampogue

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 10, 2014
Biloxi, MS
So I am new to hatching out my own eggs. My husband is the resident chicken guru, but he is out of the country right now. I wanted to surprise him and build an incubator and hatch out eggs for his return. I made my incubator out of an old cabinet. With that said, here is the issue.

I candled the eggs at day 1, day 7, and day 16. I see growth and movement. My temp would fluctuate between 99 and 101. So I wasn't worried about that and my humidity would go between 50 to 53. I ran the system for a couple days before I put the eggs in to insure that everything was running smoothly. On the morning of day 18, I did one last rotation and ensured that everything was good to go. I went to bed that night with my temp at 99 and humidity at 60. When I woke up on the morning of day 19, my light bulb went out and my humidity was at 70 and my temp was at 70. I immediately went to the store and bought a new bulb. (lesson learned: always keep extra supplies on hand). Not sure what I did wrong, but the new bulb is holding the temp at 97 - 98 degrees.

Now I am on day 23 and only one egg has cracked and pip. Did I kill my eggs with the drop on day 18? Should I wait a little longer. I am not seeing movement and I am not hearing any sounds. Any help would be welcomed. Thanks in advance.

The drop in temp shouldn't have hurt anything. I had a 7 hour power outage when my eggs were on day 10 and the temp fell to 68 degrees. They are all still fine, no harm done.
What I think may have happened is too high of a humidity percentage. If you incubated at 50% the whole time the eggs wouldn't lose enough moisture and the chicks would drown at internal pip. Maybe you'll still get some out of it though.