1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help- I'm an addict!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Raisingpeeps, Apr 11, 2016.

1. Raisingpeeps

Raisingpeeps Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2014
    Quincy, IL
    So I am relatively new at raising chickens. We started last year with two Buff Orpingtons, a black australorp, a silver laced wyandotte, a cherry egger, and two easter eggers. When we moved to the country we added a barred rock roo. (8 total)

Well this spring chicken math has hit and BAD! We ordered 15 mixed pullets and 6 cochin from Cackle. Out of the 6 cochin (pretty sure FIVE of them are roosters) we received 3 black and 3 partridge. The pullets were 6 new Hampshire reds, 6 Black sex link, and 5 white rock pullets. (23 added)

Then we (I) happened to stop by the local feed store a few times and accumulated 2 more Easter Eggers, 2 Cuckoo Marans, a golden laced Wyandotte, 2 buff brahma, a salmon faverelle, two silkies, and 8 bantams. (18 more added)
    Total of 49 chickens!!!!!! OMG [​IMG] What Happened??????

No,,, Really,,, what happened? Is this going to get worse????? Is there a cure????? If not I am in BIG trouble....or maybe I need to buy more acreage!

Seriously- does anyone else have such a crazy mixed up flock? I would love to hear some stories!!! [​IMG]

2. raisingdaisies

raisingdaisies Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2016
    I'm thinking we would be best described as enablers, not recovery helpers [​IMG]
    Mine has gotten progressively worse. We have 39 now [​IMG] Oops!

3. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011
    Don't look to me for help; only 35 overwinter here, and now have twice that many with new chicks. Have enlarged my coop THREE times, just to keep up. Mary

4. Raisingpeeps