HELP! Introducing 1 hen into a flock of 3?!

C KL

Hatching
Oct 16, 2017
Hi,

I wonder if anyone can help. Im new to chicken keeping and this is my first flock. I have 3 hens that I got around 4 weeks ago. 1 rescue LB, Cream Legbar and a Lavender Leghorn. .....well this weekend I thought how lovely to add in a Silkie !...
So I went back to the farm I got the other 3, silly me didn't think twice about just placing her in the Coop with the flock. Before I could even put her feet on the ground they attacked her. The CB (who usually is at the bottom of the pecking order) jumped straight on her back and started pecking her. Immediately I grabbed her and took her out.

Ive done some research and realised its supposed to be a gradual thing so yesterday I put the silkie in my dogs crate next to the coop where she spent the day, today Ive put the crate inside the coop for the day. How long do you think I should do this for and Ive also been reading up that its best to introduce in number no less than 2? Will she get mauled if shes on her own? All the other hens are double her size and cant stand the thought of her getting really hurt. Would it be a good idea to maybe get another silkie and do this process together?

Please help!!

I've never been in the situation, but I just got 3 chicks and have been thinking about it a lot, just in case only 1 is a pullet. I would keep the silkie in the coop, with wire between her and the others for a few weeks. Then I would let the silkie out to free range, with maybe your gentlest hen for a few days. Maybe they will get along and the silkie would have an ally. Then introduce them during free range.

Hi! Welcome to BYC! You'll find lots of experience here. One thing most will tell you is that it's very difficult to mix standard breeds with bantam breeds, especially a single. It may never work. If you have your heart set on Silkies, consider separate housing.