Help! Introducing a hen to Muscovy flock

Ozarkhomesteader

Songster
9 Years
Oct 18, 2014
Arkansas
Hey there! I have been keeping muscovies for quite a few years, but I am hoping someone who has some more experience will chime in! Any input or ideas appreciated!

So I have two separate breeding groups of muscovies this spring. I've decided to reduce to one group (1 drake and 3-4 hens) and sell the others. Love my muscovies, but have decided to focus on my geese and turkeys.

All is great, except I have one blue pied hen in the group I was planning to sell, and I am very fond of her! She is the first duckling I hatched from my own birds 3 years ago or so, and so I'm kinda attached. The drake I am keeping I am also very attached to.

The problem?? Sam (my drake) hates her. Every time I try to put her in the coop with him and his 3 girls, he bullies her relentlessly. And another hen in there tends to be mean to her too. They know each other, they grew up together, and free range together. Over winter they were cooped together too, and I had some bullying, but not too bad.

Is there any ways you guys can think of to help everyone accept each other?? I had a couple ideas, like penning her with the drake individually, and then maybe with the other bully hen, hoping maybe they would become friends if each other is all they have?

Or do y'all think I should just relent, and sell her with the other ones I'm selling?

I know this may seem like a silly question! But I was wondering if anyone has experience with this sort of thing and had some wisdom to share before I made a decision!

Thanks in advance for any advice!