help me build my flock!

amazondoc

Cracked Egghead
12 Years
Mar 31, 2008
Lebanon, TN
Hello all!

I saw a thread similar to this posted by cluckychick a few days ago, but I think this is a different enough question to be best served by its own thread.

I have just purchased property -- six acres, which includes a beautiful coop and enclosed chicken yard. I don't know the exact measurements, but it is currently housing around 15-20 healthy chickens, including several roosters. This property is in middle TN.

I would like to start a small flock after I move in. I envision 8-15 hens, no roosters. I'd like some eggs, I don't eat meat, I'd like a variety of birds, and I'd like friendly birds. Unfortunately they must remain in their enclosed yard, since I do doberman pinscher rescue and constantly have a large pack of hungry dogs running around.

I have been researching breeds, but although I am very familiar with animals (I'm a retired vet) I've never kept chickens of my own. Right now I'm thinking about: 2 or 3 Ameraucanas, 2 or 3 gold-laced Wyandottes, 2 or 3 black Australops, 2 or 3 buff Orpingtons, maybe 2-3 Welsummers, plus maybe 2 or 3 of some commercial brown egg laying type. I plan to get some from the local chicken swap, and order the rest as day-olds so I have a mix of ages.

Does this sound like a reasonable mix? Any input would be welcomed. I have at least few months before I will actually be purchasing birds, but I want to figure out what I'm doing before I actually do it!

Sounds Good however I personally am not a fan of the Sex link layers. Yes they lay great but there are other breeds that lay well. I LOVE the Speckled Sussex and the Delaware. If you are wanting true Ameraucanas then they will have to come from a breeder as ALL commercial hatcheries sell Easter Eggers (a mutt bird with the capability to lay eggs that are white, brown, blue, green and pink) EE's are great if you cannot find true Ameraucanas.