Help me choose the right breed?!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by hannahrose894, May 20, 2010.

1. hannahrose894

hannahrose894 Out Of The Brooder

May 20, 2010
    West Lafayette
    I am a total newbie at chickens, and am trying to decide which breed would be right for me. I have researched a while online and came up with a list, but I don't know where to go from there! I am looking to buy to hens for egg production (preferably brown eggs, but that doesn't really matter) that are fairly calm, are very winter-hardy, can do fairly well in a smaller grazing area (my backyard) and are fun and maybe even good around children. I live in northern Indiana where the weather fluxuates greatly, and will not be able to heat their coop. THis is what I have come up with so far:
    Welsummer
    Ameraucana
    Australorp
    Barnevelder
    Delaware
    Dominique
    Araucana
    Orpington
    Plymouth Rock
    Rhode Island
    Star
    Sussex
    Wyandotte

Any suggestions or comments would be amazingly appreciated!!

2. muddyhorse

muddyhorse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2009
    Bloomsdale, MO
    all of those birds are good brown egg layers. one thing that can be a concern in the winter is large combs getting frostbite. I love my wynadottes, and sussex, My dom just hatched two ducks. we have an orpington that is 5 and still lays every other day. my daughter totes them all around.

3. Morgan7782

Morgan7782 Dense Egg Goo

Mar 22, 2010
    Sacramento CA
    Barred Rocks are great layers of brown eggs, and though temperment varies with indavidual birds, I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with this breed. They lay GREAT through winter/snow, and are cold hardy. The one's I have had are very friendly, and calm around my 5 year old nephew and his various friends. I would definately look into Barred Plymouth Rocks (Probably Plymouth Rocks, but I love the barring color)