HELP ME PLEASE!! I'M New at this!!!! No one will help!!!

LilCountryFarmGal

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 23, 2011
Hi I have currently become addicted to chickens!! It started with 6......and now is upto 30+!! Yes I really enjoy them and so do my kids. Yesterday afternoon while feeding my 6wk old cochins--very nice birds--one kept pecking me--she did it 4 times! Then when I went and checked on her later her eyes were closed--no matting or running in her eyes and she was hunched down in a big PUFFY ball and was no longer aggressive??? Then I noticed in the same pen that one of the other cochcin chics had some feathers missing from both sides of her neck and kept hiding under the other three babys-who are growing just fine?? Odd!! I can't figure out what was wrong and I don't want to loose my whole flock! I ordered these chics from RandellBurkey.com--and the other Wyndottes I ordered are fine??
I seperated both of the birds last night--and they were in the same shape at about midnight--then this morning at about 8 am they are wide eyed and walking around????? Glad but still worried something is wrong???
I called all of my local vets and no one will help!
Please someone tell me what my next step should be--

I wish I could help. Maybe a picture of the sick ones would be helpful? Best of luck!
hugs.gif
hugs.gif
hugs.gif
And
welcome-byc.gif

Are you sure the Cochin wasn't taking a nap? The wee one with feathers missing is getting pecked by the others. She'll find her place in the order of things and feathers grow back. Keep an eye on her, if wee ones are in same pen as older hens then it could get bad and have to separate.