HELP!!!! Momma turkey has been on the nest for 14 days

mg69

Hatching
8 Years
May 6, 2011
Please help me with some info.

I am new to turkeys.

A momma bird nested right outside my back door. We saw 14 eggs in the nest while she was off the nest but now, she has not moved for 14 days. I want to know what I can do to provide some food and water to the momma before her condition worsens. Does anyone have any info to help?

Please... I am concerned for the momma's health...

Mark
Brookfield, CT

I assume you are talking about a wild turkey? She should sit on the nest for 23 hours and 45-55 minutes a day for the entire 28 days it takes for her babies to hatch. There is nothing you need to do as she likely gets off just once a day when you aren't looking. The reason she got off the nest before is because they will lay one egg a day until they have as many as they want.

Sorry, yes... wild turkey.

I was afraid that the 14-21 days of pretty much no food or water was going to adversely affect the momma bird. I thought maybe I could help out as we can get within feet of the nest without her moving and if I could provide some food and water, that would help. I have 8 chickens in the yard, but MANY predators in the woods and if I can keep momma from having to hit the woods for food while she nest, that would be a good thing....

Mark

We don't have wild turkeys in my immediate neighborhood, although they have them within 10 miles of me. So, I've never seen a wild turkey nest. My Royal Palm cross hen has been sitting since Easter Sunday, and I've only seen her off the nest for a few moments when I bring food and water and treats.

I've had wild ducks and pheasants nest in the yard, and they would only leave the nest either just at the crack of dawn (the pheasant) or at dusk (the mallard) and only be gone about 15-20 minutes tops.