1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help My Buff - HURT LEG

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by stillmecle, Oct 6, 2011.

1. stillmecle

stillmecle Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 26, 2011
    Des Moines, IA
    My Buff all of a sudden this morning cannot walk on her right legg. I checked it all over and see no cuts, srapes or injury to it. I put her in the pool and she is happy. But what do I do??? We no not have duck vets around here.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  2. stillmecle

Aug 26, 2011
    Des Moines, IA
    So nobody can help me? Give me ideas on what to do? As I've said many times I am new to this And this has me scared to death because she won't eat or drink, I had to make a bed for her and put food and water beside her so that maybe she will eat or drink. I quarantined her from the other ducks so they would not pick on her. she has been laying 2 eggs everyday for 3 days now. is that are unsual? she definitely is a atslayer. now I just have to figure out what's wrong with her legs. Somebody please help me or give me some ideas on what to do. we do not have a vet around here that treats ducks. so I am kind of relying on you guys. Can somebody please give me advice? I don't mean for this sound bossy or snotty, I just need some help

3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Quote:I've not heard of a duck laying 2 eggs a day, maybe that is taking too much out of her, if she'll drink try giving her Nutri Drench, it is a rapid Nutritional Supplement. Could she have jumped down off of something and injured her leg, My drake jumped dwn from their pool instead of using the ramp and has been limping for about a week. Hope this helps. I am still amazed that she is laying 2 eggs a day.

4. stillmecle

Aug 26, 2011