Help!! My Duck Is Running Around Scared And Finding Places to Hide!

QuackinaTheDuck

Hatching
Nov 17, 2018
Hello duck community,

I am new to this page, hopefully you guys are able to help me out here.

So I own a female Peking Duck about a year and a half old.

I went out for groceries for a couple hours and left my duck in her little pen in my downstairs. When I came home, normally I would be greeted with multiple loud quacks. But when I went down, my duck managed to get out of her pen. She was sitting in the far corner, in the pitch black. Then suddenly came running(waddling) super fast towards me. She looked so frantic, and scared, and stressed like she’s been through some type of mess. She tried finding all the tightest cracks where she could hide in, and kept pacing back and forth all around the room. I’ve never seen her so uneasy. Her heart was pacing so fast. She only seemed to calm down when she was snug in a tight hiding spot where she thought she was protected, or when I had my arm around her. Otherwise, she could not keep still for 1 second, jumping up onto random areas of the room that she would typically never grow interest to look around in.

I don’t own any other pets, and there was no one else home. Is there something I should be concerned about with her behaviour, or was she simply just scared of something.

My thoughts are:
1) She had a difficult time getting out of the pen which scared her some how.
2) She injured herself somewhere and it is really bothering her(can’t see any visual injuries)
3) gained some type of disease
4) a ghost startled her

Hopefully it isn’t too concerning, but it definitely was a stressful hour for me to see my duck running around like crazy.

Looking forward to your answers. Thanks!

Could there have possibly been a rat inside, or perhaps a stray cat or dog seen through a window?