Help needed, roosters in hen house

TRoseberry

In the Brooder
Apr 9, 2020
Y’all I’m new to chickens and with that being said they told me my chicks were 2 weeks old when I bought them....
First ? 1) I have 2 white leghorns that are roosters and they are crowing which in my calculations they just turned 12 weeks... Is this possible or they more like 4 months?? I have 4 RIR AND 5 buff Orpingtons( my favorites) and 7 total white leghorns with 2 ROOS( thinking I’m going to find the roosters new homes because I’m still trying to sort all of this out)
2) IF I have no idea how old these chickadees are then how do I know when to start preparing for my hens to lay??
3) I still have them in grower feed adding some grit in there as well and some treats like fresh veggies.
4) AM I CUT OUT FOR THIS?????
HELP NEEDED! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Breathe.
1. Yes they sometimes crow that early so nothing unusual there.
2. I never took my flock off chick starter, just put out oyster shell so when the girls started to lay it was available. Roosters and chicks don't need the extra calcium so if you plan to hatch out your own this is a good plan.
3. See my answer above.
4. There is a learning curve as there is with any animal. You can do this!

As for 2 roosters, they're growing up together so they might be ok if you have enough room and hens. It's not likely they'll roost in the same coop without upheaval so you may need 2 coops if you keep more than one.

1) I have 2 white leghorns that are roosters and they are crowing which in my calculations they just turned 12 weeks... Is this possible or they more like 4 months?? I have 4 RIR AND 5 buff Orpingtons( my favorites) and 7 total white leghorns with 2 ROOS( thinking I’m going to find the roosters new homes because I’m still trying to sort all of this out)